AIDS 2020: Virtual Awards

CIPHER Grant Programme – Annual programme


AIDS 2020: Virtual recipients:

Arnold Sadio, Centre Africain de Recherche en Épidémiologie et en Santé Publique (CARESP), Lomé, Togo
Research title: Access to Self-Testing and prevalence of HIV infection and its associated factors in a vulnerable population: case of ADOlescents in the Streets of Togo (STADOS Study)

Désiré Dahourou, Institut de Recherche en Science de la Santé (IRSS), Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Research title: Evaluation of mental health, resistance mutations, and practices of new therapeutic regimen introduction and their tolerance in adolescents living with HIV in West Africa

Merrian Brooks, Botswana-UPenn Partnership, Gaborone, Botswana
Research title: Implementing lay counsellor- based mental health services to meet the complex needs of young people living with and vulnerable to HIV in Botswana

Tamsin Phillips, University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa
Research title: Routine Electronic Mother-INfant Data (REMInD) to support retention in postpartum HIV treatment and early infant diagnosis services in South Africa

IAS/Abivax Research-for-Cure Academy Fellowship Prize – Annual prize


AIDS 2020: Virtual recipient:

Rose Magala Nabatanzi, Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda

IAS/MSD Prize for Operational and Implementation Research in Differentiated Service Delivery – Annual prize


AIDS 2020: Virtual recipient:

Bao Vu, PATH, Hanoi, Vietnam
Abstract title: Leading from the community: How key population organizations in Vietnam transformed from peer support groups to clinical service providers

Geoffrey Fatti, Kheth’Impilo AIDS Free Living; Stellenbosch University, Cape Town, South Africa
Abstract title: Outcomes of three versus six-monthly dispensing of antiretroviral treatment (ART) for stable HIV patients in community ART refill groups: A cluster-randomized trial in Zimbabwe

Liesbet Ohler, Médecins Sans Frontières, Eshowe, South Africa
Abstract title: Retention in care among patients in differentiated models of HIV care in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Susan Atuhura, Spectrum Uganda Initiatives, Kampala, Uganda
Abstract title: Leaving no one behind: Assessing the impact of MSM community-based adherence clubs on retention and viral load suppression in Uganda

IAS President’s Award – Biennial award


AIDS 2020: Virtual recipient:

International Council of Nurses (ICN)

Elizabeth Taylor Human Rights Award – Biennial award


AIDS 2020: Virtual recipients:

Loon Gangte, Delhi Network of Postive People (DNP+), New Delhi, India

IAS/ANRS Dominique Dormont Prize – Annual prize


AIDS 2020: Virtual recipient:

Marine Baron, CIMI, Paris, France

Abstract title: Effects of immune-check point inhibitors on anti-HIV specific immune responses and HIV-reservoir in people living with HIV (PLHIV) and cancer

Prize for Excellence in HIV Research Related to Children – Biennial prize


AIDS 2020: Virtual recipients:

Sayward Harrison, University of South Carolina, Columbia, South Carolina

Abstract title: Building resilience for children affected by parental HIV in China: Efficacy of the multi-level ChildCARE intervention at 18-, 24-, 30-, and 36-months

Women, Girls and HIV Investigator’s Prize – Biennial prize


AIDS 2020: Virtual recipient:

Jacqueline Wambui Mwangi, AfroCAB, Nairobi, Kenya

Abstract title: Strategic partnerships for optimal HIV treatment access

Kashemwa Migabo Givano, Global Strategies, Bukavu, Democratic Republic of the Congo

Abstract title: Gender-based violence tracker: Real-time tracking of PEP kit consumption to coordinate the response to sexual violence in the eastern Congo

Prudence Mabele Prize – Biennial prize


AIDS 2020: Virtual recipients:

Maria Godlevskaya, EVA Association, Saint Petersburg, Russia

Robert Carr Research Award – Biennial award


AIDS 2020: Virtual recipient:

Caribbean Vulnerable Communities (CVC), Jamaica; University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA

Project: Estimation of Key Population Size of Men Who Have Sex with Men, Transgender Women and Female Sex Workers in the Eastern Caribbean States

ViiV Healthcare Positive Action HIV Challenge


AIDS 2020: Virtual recipients:

Andrey Rylkov Foundation for Health and Social Justice, Russia

Project: Provision of harm reduction services to people who inject drugs on the streets of Moscow


Zambian Equality Forum Limited, Zambia

Project: Reducing HIV infection and Harm reduction among LGBTI and MSM who inject drugs


Teens Link Uganda, Uganda

Project: Step Up harm reduction services for People Who Inject Drugs in Wakiso, Uganda


Recovering Nepal, Nepal

Project: Provision for Gender Friendly Harm Reduction Services to Women Who Use Drugs


Bridge Hope and Health Organisation, Afghanistan

Project: Community-led harm reduction in Kabul

IAS/ANRS Lange/van Tongeren Prizes for Young Investigators – Annual prizes


AIDS 2020: Virtual recipient:

Track A

Ashley George, Gladstone Institute of Virology and Immunology, University of California at San Francisco, San Francisco, California, USA

Abstract title: CyTOF analysis reveals that HIV-1 upregulates expression of multiple RNA and DNA sensors in subsets of primary CD4+ T cells

Track B

Jérémy Zeggagh, Hospital Saint-Louis, APHP, Paris, France

Abstract title: Incidence and risk factors for STIs among MSM on PrEP – A post-hoc analysis of the ANRS IPERGAY trial

Track C

Lennah Oluoch, Impact Research and Development Organization, Kisumu, Kenya

Abstract title: Consent comprehension and waiver of caregiver consent for minors participating in sensitive research: Views of adolescent girls and caregivers in western Kenya

Track D

Soraya Bouwmeester, Aidsfonds, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Abstract title: Creating communities of emergency responders to reduce violence against sex workers and increase access to justice and HIV services: Lessons learned from the Hands Off programme

Track E

Tadala Hamisi, Ministry of Health, Lilongwe, Malawi

Abstract title: Transition to dolutegravir-based regimens improves overall viral-load suppression in the national ART cohort in Malawi and closes the gender gap

Track F

Edward Owino, University of Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya

Abstract title: Maintaining epidemic control in Namibia: designing the optimal package. Lessons from ACS support to the Namibian Government

Mark Wainberg Fellowship Programme


2020 recipients:

Kick Kayembe Kakese, Médecins Sans Frontières, Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo

Mkhoi Lord Mkhoi, University of Dodoma, Dodoma, Tanzania

Edy Nacarapa, Carmelo Hospital of Chokwe , Chokwe City, Mozambique